WIPCOOP Sessions ÇIĞDEM Y. MIROL + MOUSS SARR + TISTER IKOMO

14 October Rataplan hosts another WIPCOOP Sessions with work by Cigdem Y. Mirol, Mouss Sarr and Tister Ikomo.

Mouss Sarr and Tister Ikomo are each developping a new dance creation. Mouss is working on a solo where he uses his movements  to question identity, racism, colonialism and his position in the world today. And Tister Ikomo will share his journey with Nzela Na Ngai’. But first we literally dive into the book with Bookperformance by Çiğdem Y. Mirol.

JOIN US for another WIPCOOP Sessions and have a look at new artistic creations that are developing in our cities.

BOOKPERFORMANCE ÇIĞDEM Y. MIROL

In BOOKPERFORMANCE Çiğdem Y. Mirol mixes the book, the performance, the author and the reader/audience into one. Çiğdem plays with the boundaries between the stage and the audience, blurring them through objects, movement and silence. Words fly through images and lines emerge.

Enjoyment becomes synonymous with understanding a strange and absurd life and love story. Only as long as they both sound the same and generate homonyms when “we” enjoy and/or understand.

Çiğdem y Mirol develops BOOKPERFORMANCE as an artistic and literary concept as well as a worldview.
As a writer and performance artist, she challenges the body and sound of a textual self. A textual self that transforms itself into the sound and body of a real self through visual and musical dynamics. During Bookperformance, the reader is invited to participate in the creative process.

Çiğdem’s experience in academia, journalism, theatre, visual arts, psychology, teaching, translation and literature explained the fundamental values of the concept and the “The Weird & The Absurd” philosophy behind it, and contributed to an understanding of transparency in the concept.

Credits: Concept and performance: Çiğdem y Mirol / www.bookperformance.com

 

“BLACK” Mouss Sarr

“Black” is an anglicism that has slipped into common usage, used to refer to a black person.
 Preferred to its French equivalent, it is more politically correct, cooler,
 safer.
 We say a Black person, but a White person. And yet, as Rokhaya Diallo points out, Noir-e is not a dirty word.
 The use of this word raises questions. “Black” dives into this questioning with both feet.

A dance solo about his search for identity as a young black man born in Europe. A complex identity, difficult to pin on a map. Too simplistic, too static?

What does it mean to be “Black”?

Mouss Sarr is a choreographer, dancer (hip-hop, dancehall and krump), founder and artistic director of Timiss, a platform where he offers space to street dancers. Read more HERE
Have a look at the teaser, click HERE.

 

NZELA NA NGAI’ TISTER IKOMO

In this triptych, you travel from Kinshasa “La Belle” to Belgium. A dance performance about trials, transformation and the struggle for recognition. Using rubbish transformed into rhythmic percussion, traditional dances and music, Tister Ikomo tells a personal story.

Tister Ikomo is a dancer, choreographer and musician who travelled through the various provinces of Congo to study the different traditional dances. In Kinshasa, he is assistant choreographer to the artistic company Arumbaya. He has also worked with Alain Platel and Fabrizio Cassol as a dancer for the show Coup Fatal and as a percussionist for Sidi Larbi.

More about Tister, click HERE.

WIPCOOP Sessions ÇIĞDEM Y. MIROL + MOUSS SARR +TISTER IKOMO

14 octobre Rataplan accueille une nouvelle édition de WIPCOOP Sessions avec des présentations de Cigdem Y. Mirol, Mouss Sarr et Tister Ikomo.

Mouss Sarr et Tister Ikomo sont chacun en train de travailler sur une nouvelle création de danse. Mouss développe un solo où, à travers son langage gestuel, il pose des questions sur l’identité, le racisme, le colonialisme et sa position dans le monde actuel. Et Tister Ikomo nous donne un aperçu de son parcours avec « Nzela Na Ngai ». Mais d’abord, nous nous plongeons littéralement dans le livre avec Bookperformance de Çiğdem Y. Mirol.

Rejoignez-nous  et jetez un coup d’œil aux nouvelles créations artistiques qui se développent dans nos villes.

 

BOOKPERFORMANCE ÇIĞDEM Y. MIROL

Avec BOOKPERFORMANCE Çiğdem Y. Mirol mélange le livre, la performance, l’auteur et le lecteur/audience en un seul. Çiğdem joue avec les frontières entre la scène et le public, les brouillant à travers les objets, le mouvement et le silence. Les mots volent à travers les images et les lignes émergent.

Çiğdem y Mirol développe BOOKPERFORMANCE comme un concept artistique et littéraire ainsi qu’une vision du monde.
En tant qu’écrivain et artiste de performance, elle remet en question le corps et le son d’un soi textuel. Un moi textuel qui se transforme en son et en corps d’un moi réel grâce à une dynamique visuelle et musicale. Pendant Bookperformance, le lecteur est invité à participer au processus de création.

L’expérience de Çiğdem dans le milieu universitaire, le journalisme, le théâtre, les arts visuels, la psychologie, l’enseignement, la traduction et la littérature a permis d’expliquer les valeurs fondamentales du concept et la philosophie « The Weird & The Absurd » qui le sous-tend, et a contribué à la compréhension de la transparence du concept.

Crédits : Concept et performance : Çiğdem y Mirol / www.bookperformance.com

« BLACK » Mouss Sarr

« Black » est un anglicisme tombé dans l’usage
 courant, utilisé pour désigner une personne
 noire. Préféré à son équivalent français, il se
 veut plus politiquement correct, plus cool,
 plus safe.
 On dira un Black, mais un Blanc. Et pourtant,
 comme le souligne Rokhaya Diallo, Noir·e
 n’est pas un gros mot.
 L’utilisation de ce mot pose question. « Black »
 plonge à pieds joints dans ce
 questionnement.

Dans ce solo, Mouss explore et relate à travers
 la danse sa quête identitaire en tant que
 jeune homme noir né en Europe.
Une identité complexe, difficile à placer sur
 une carte. Trop réductrice, trop statique ?

Être « Black », ça veut dire quoi au juste?

Mouss Sarr est chorégraphe, danseur (hip-hop, dancehall et krump), fondateur et directeur artistique de Timiss, une plateforme où il offre un espace aux danseurs street. Plus d’informations ICI
Regardez le teaser, cliquez ICI.

NZELA NA NGAI’ TISTER IKOMO

Dans ce triptyque, vous voyagez de Kinshasa « La Belle » à la Belgique. Un spectacle de danse sur les épreuves, la transformation et la lutte pour la reconnaissance. À travers des déchets transformés en percussions rythmiques, des danses et des musiques traditionnelles, le chorégraphe, musicien et danseur Tister Ikomo raconte une histoire personnelle.

Tister Ikomo est un danseur, chorégraphe et musicien qui a parcouru les différentes provinces du Congo pour étudier les différentes danses traditionnelles. A Kinshasa, il est assistant chorégraphe de la compagnie artistique Arumbaya. Il a également travaillé avec Alain Platel et Fabrizio Cassol en tant que danseur pour le spectacle Coup Fatal et en tant que percussionniste pour Sidi Larbi.